Assault

Rhode Island Domestic Assault Lawyer 

Experienced and Aggressive Criminal Defense Lawyer Matthew Marin

A charge of simple domestic assault is an extremely serious offense. The misdemeanor charge of simple domestic assault and battery charge can subject you up to one year in jail at the ACI and label you as a “wife-beater” or “domestic abuser” for life. Moreover, Rhode Island domestic assault and battery charges are more difficult to remove from your criminal record than other misdemeanor criminal charges in Rhode Island. At the Law Offices of Matthew T. Marin, Esquire, Inc., Attorney Matthew Marin will personally handle your Rhode Island domestic assault and battery case. He has extensive experience handling all types of simple assault / domestic charges and has likely handled one just like yours. Contact Attorney Marin today for a no fee, confidential consultation at our convenient downtown office locations. Attorney Marin is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can be reached by phone at 401-228-8271, email at marin.matthew@gmail.com, or via our contact form .

Rhode Island Domestic Assault Laws

Rhode Island Domestic Assault Laws prohibit the commission of an assault or a battery, or both, upon a family or household member. Rhode Island’s Assault Law found in § 11-5-3, provides that “every person who shall make an assault or battery or both shall be imprisoned not exceeding one year or fined not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.” In addition to those penalties, Rhode Island’s Domestic Violence Prevention Act, located in Chapter 12-29, provides that individuals who are placed on probation for a crime involving domestic violence or whose case is filed are required to complete an approved batters intervention program and pay an additional $125 assessment.
What is a Simple Assault/Domestic Charge in Rhode Island?
Commonly, misdemeanor domestic assault charges in Rhode Island are referred to as “simple assault/domestic.” Most individuals charged with this crime will receive a summons to appear in court with the “offense” labeled “simple assault/domestic,” “simple assault domestic” or “domestic simple assault.” Each of these labels refers to a criminal charge alleging a misdemeanor assault and battery committed against a family or household member. The penalties for simple domestic assault and battery can be found below.
What is a Felony Assault/Domestic Charge in Rhode Island?
Oftentimes, felony domestic assault charges in Rhode Island are referred to as “felony assault/domestic.” Most individuals charged with this crime will be brought in front of a Justice of the Peace or formally arraigned in the Rhode Island District Court. Those will be told they are charged with “felony assault/domestic,” “felony domestic assault” or “domestic felony assault.” Each of these labels refers to a criminal charge alleging a felony assault and battery committed against a family or household member.
Contact An Experienced Rhode Island Domestic Assault Attorney Today 
Attorney Matthew Marin – Phone 401-228-8271 – Email marin.matthew@gmail.com

Penalties for Rhode Island Domestic Assault Charges

Penalties for First Offense Domestic Assault and Battery in Rhode Island
- Up to One Year in Jail
- Up to One Thousand Dollar ($1,000) Fine
- Mandatory Batters Intervention Program (domestic violence counseling)
- Mandatory Increased Court Costs
Penalties for Second Offense Domestic Assault and Battery in Rhode Island
- Mandatory Minimum Ten (10) Days in Jail, Up to One Year in Jail
- Up to One Thousand Dollar ($1,000) Fine
- Mandatory Batters Intervention Program (domestic violence counseling)
- Mandatory Increased Court Costs
Penalties for Third Offense Domestic Assault and Battery in Rhode Island 

- Felony Charge for Simple Domestic Assault and Battery
- Mandatory Minimum One (1) Year in Jail, Up to Ten Years in Jail
- Up to One Thousand Dollar ($1,000) Fine
- Mandatory Batters Intervention Program (domestic violence counseling)
- Mandatory Increased Court Costs

Rhode Island Domestic Assault Defense Strategies

Whether you are wrongfully accused or you believe that you may have committed a criminal offense, an experienced Rhode Island domestic assault lawyer can help you so that any negative impact on your life is lessened. Our Rhode Island Domestic Assault Attorney's handle a large number of domestic assault cases every year and understand the nuances of the law. Through experience, they understand how simple arguments can often become heated exchanges.

At the Law Offices of Matthew T. Marin, Esquire, Inc., we also understand how heated exchanges and failed relationships can lead to false allegations of domestic assault. Unfortunately, due to mandatory arrest laws a false allegation of domestic assault in Rhode Island WILL RESULT IN YOUR ARREST and possible incarceration. One of the hardest things for anyone facing false allegations of domestic assault is to maintain your right to remain silent. Once the police have charged you with domestic assault in Rhode Island, YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CHANGE THEIR MINDS. Even if the police do believe you, they are obligated to bring the charges forward and let the prosecutors and defense lawyers settle the incident. Therefore, it is never in your best interest to speak with the police.

With the assistance of a skilled and experienced Rhode Island Domestic Assault Lawyer, you can put your best defense forward and minimize the negative impacts of any domestic assault charges. Domestic violence cases are often complex and you need the assistance of an qualified Rhode Island domestic assault lawyer to navigate the legal system. At the Law Offices of Matthew T. Marin, Esquire, Inc., you can count on experienced and aggressive legal representation that will advocate for your rights.
Rhode Island Domestic Assault Charges - Areas We Serve

Rhode Island Domestic Assault Charges - Areas We Serve

- Providence District Court - Barrington, Bristol, Burrillville, Central Falls, Cumberland, East Providence, Pawtucket, Providence, Woonsocket, Warren
- Kent County District Court - Coventry, Cranston, East Greenwich, Foster, Glocester, Johnston, Lincoln, North Kingstown, North Providence, North Smithfield, Scituate, Smithfield, Warwick, West Warwick
- Washington County District Court - Block Island (New Shoreham), Hopkinton, Narragansett, Richmond, South Kingstown, Westerly
- Newport District Court - Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Portsmouth, Tiverton
Contact An Experienced Rhode Island Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer Today 
Attorney Matthew Marin – Phone 401-228-8271 – Email marin.matthew@gmail.com
Attorney Matthew Marin
Top Rated Domestic Violence Defense Attorney
Rated 5.0 out of 5 Stars

How Can We Help?

Providence Office Location:
127 Dorrance Street
Penthouse Suite
Providence, RI 02903
   Newport Office Location:
   37 Bellevue Avenue
   2nd Floor
   Newport, RI 02840
Share by: